Nepal Academy awarding experts, literary writers

Kathmandu, Dec 16

The 35th academic assembly of the Nepal Academy has decided to award various experts and literary writers. The meeting decided to present the ‘Nepal Social Science, Culture and Philosophy Award’ to Prof Dr Birendra Prasad Mishra. The award carries a purse of Rs 200,000. Similarly, Prod Dr Tej Ratna Kansakar is going to be awarded with the ‘Nepal Academy Language Award’. The award carries a purse of Rs 200,000.

“Nepal Academy Nepali Literature Award’ of Rs 100,000 is to be conferred on Harihar Khanal and Rabiman Lamjel, while the award in the category of mother language literature of mountain, hilly area and Tarai to Indra Bahadur Gurung, Chaturbhuj Lal Das Kewarat, Purnya Vaidya and Hansawati Kurmi, said Member-Secretary of the Academy, Prof Jagat Prasad Upadhyay. Similarly, Leel Bahadur Chhetri of Asam, India is to be honoured with ‘Bhanu Academy Inter-Country Nepali Literature Award’ and ‘Nepal Academy Translation Award’ to Krishna Prakash Shrestha. Each award carries a purse of Rs 200,000. The meeting also decided to present the ‘Nepal Pragyalankar Samman’ to Prof Wang Hongwei of China. The award is conferred on the foreign national.

The award carries a purse of 3,000 US dollars. The Academy also decided to present honorary membership of the Nepal Academy to Dr Maheshraj Panta and Prof Dr Surya Prasad Subedi and the lifetime membership to Ananda Dev Bhatta. The meeting also approved the budget of Rs 195 million for the current fiscal year and annual policy and programmes.

Chancellor Ganga Prasad Upreti said that programme being carried out by Nepal Academy were reviewed and discussion held on future programme and plan in the assembly.

  • Nepal News Agenacy Pvt. Ltd.

  • Putalisadak, Kathmandu Nepal

  • 01-4011122, 01-4011124, 01-4011125

  • [email protected], [email protected]

    Information and Broadcasting Department, Regd No - 2001/2077-078

Our Team

Editorial Board

©2021 Nepal Page English | Website by